East Bay Road

Osterville, MA

Overlooking Dowes Beach, this gambrel-roofed, shingle-style summer retreat was originally built in 1870 for the founder of the women’s fashion label Talbots. Its new owners wanted to enliven the property by both preserving its historic character and realizing the hidden potential of its unique Y-shaped configuration.

This required major renovations and additions to the original home, including preserving the fieldstone-supported wraparound porch; re-shingling the exterior; re-cladding the fieldstone chimneys; and adding windows, shutters, and a new entry portico. A new carriage house, pool cabana, putting green, and landscaping form outdoor rooms, animating the property and encouraging alfresco living.

Today, the interior features a more prominent entry and a central spine that simplifies circulation, especially from the front door to the back entertaining terrace. Similarly, a pedestrian-scaled portal through the carriage house now connects the motor court to the outdoor-living spaces in the rear yard.

The new entry drive creates a romantic sense of arrival with its circular shape, ocean views, and up-lit trees around the perimeter of the motor court. The carriage house and cabana bookend the pool area, defining a courtyard-like alfresco living room that features a built-in grill perfect for summer entertaining,


BRICC Awards 2016

Four Gold & One Silver Award

View Details +