Sited on more than 14 acres at the foot of the Blue Hills, Applecroft was built in Boston’s Hyde Park in the 1890s and moved to its present location on land that once comprised part of Milton’s notable Eustis Estate in 1910. The three-story wood frame home was designed for Frederick A Eustis II, one of the elder Eustis’ twin sons. Our clients purchased the residence in 2018 and engaged us to bring the structure back to its original glory.
A thoughtful restoration was planned with modifications that would subtly bring the home into the modern era while preserving the authenticity of the past. As new owners of the abutting Eustis Estate, Historic New England, the oldest and largest regional heritage organization in the nation, was consulted on all modifications to Applecroft. Their approval is a testament to our preservation work with such a significant historic residence.